Vacation’s Eve

As I’ve already said, summer isn’t over.  However, it is getting a smidge chilly in the mornings, and maybe I’m wearing a bit less chiffon and a bit more cotton.  Who are we kidding?  I don’t own anything made out of chiffon, but you get the picture.  So, to celebrate the lead up to the changing of the season, and the day that I start wearing hosery again, I bought this adorable Anne Klein drape-neck plaid sheath (‘Dress’ for the boys).  For work.  To look less schmucky AT work…  I am hoping it’s not a Man Repeller outfit, but I’m not entirely sure; maybe the way blondie wears it, but I don’t pair anything with black opaque tights and I am not 17 feet tall (measely 5.5 feet, and change) , so I’m probably pretty safe.

I’ve also been using the crock pot more lately.  The fact that I have only owned a crock pot for 3 weeks aside, it’s going well.  I have made several textureless dishes that had some great flavours about 4 hours ago, but now are a bit…how do you say…blah.  Thanks www.Chatelaine.com, but maybe I’m just not cut out to slow-cook.  I’ll keep trying, though.

I am also shortly (by shortly, I mean tomorrow) going on a extreme adventure to visit The North (Red Lake, ON) to see my rad 96 year old grandma and learn her potato soup and dinner roll secrets, my bestie Kiera whose spring visit you may remember, and the coolest person alive (aka my cousin Harriet).  The rest of my family as well and perhaps even a trip to this piece of forest that I have (more on that later).  Other than trips to the cottage, which were great, I haven’t done much travelling lately, so it will be nice to get away from Toronto for at least a few days.

I’m climbing the CN Tower, yet again, this year.  Last year’s time was dismal, I won’t even tell you; I wasn’t feeling well that day, I had a sore throat and my shoes were too tight…. so this year can not possibly be any slower!  Right?  That’s the theory, anyway.  I will solicit for sponsors as soon as I receive confirmation of my registration, so get your credit cards ready.  Or your cheque book, if you are my mother and/or terrified of internet credit stealing predators.

Sir Henry is healing well from surgery, thank goodness, and Miss Kitten has been hiding in her newly installed cat tree for the past 6 days. Hopefully it helps her lose some weight, who lets their cat become 12lbs?  I’m an irresponsible pet owner.   Don’t think that for a second Henry is cute and sleeping here, there was an entire green ball is his mouth when I took that photo, he was making sure I wasn’t there to take it from him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vacation’s Eve

  1. John says:

    Enjoy your vacation! I didn’t know you climbed the CN Tower! I’m guessing you’re doing it next month and not April? If you don’t mind me asking how long did it take you and what did you do to train for it? I’m thinking of making it one of my 40 races and could use some first hand info!

Leave a Reply

