#75 Experience Weightlessness

The long awaited sky-diving post….I’ve been so busy going to the cottage that I haven’t done any updates in a while, even though I’ve been up to some pretty awesome things.  So without further ado, I give you some ridiculous skydiving outfits.

Why is it that I am always the odd one out?  Before we got into the amazingly flattering jumpsuits, we got to watch a safety video and pretend to fly on an ottoman in front of a group of people.  I was so sure I was going to make a fool of myself, but in fact, pretending to fly on an ottoman isn’t all that hard….nevermind.

Then we were outfitted with suits based on height and weight (eeek!) I’m pretty sure we all lied, well, I lied, I’m really only 5′7.5“…  We also got goggles, mine were bigger than the others to accomodate my seeing goggles, so I looked super funny, and earplugs, which we all put in way too early and preceeded to yell at each other for twenty minutes.  We got to watch a few groups go before us, and then we got to go in.  Now, there is a video of us, and if I ever figure out this danging YouTube nonsense, I will post it….but as it were, I do not have direct access to it.  It is hard to explain how it feels to jump into the air and not fall; I have these fun dreams where I can fly by simply lifting my feet up, and this was exactly how it felt, except windier, so if you yourself have dreams like this, you will understand. 

My little pea-pod of a younger sister, Tori, flew like it was nothing.  The dude that holds on to you so you don’t smack into the walls and such, actually flew with my mum, and flipped her over so that she was face up which she said it felt weird.  My big sister, Stephie, figure out how to steer herself.  I mostly laughed and felt my nostrils flare from the wind….but it was still awesome.  It worked my upper body like I never expected and my shoulders even felt a bit sore the next day.

Just in case you have forgotten how silly we looked:

We did this shenanigan at Niagara Freefall & Interactive Center in Niagara Falls, which is the only place you can go indoor skydiving in Canada.  So, of course we had to go down to the falls the block to take pictures before heading off to wine country (more about that later).

Mom, you should have told us that our heads were blocking the view…but Niagara Falls is behind us, I swear!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #75 Experience Weightlessness

  1. John says:

    Sounds like fun. Are you going to actually take the plunge someday…you know from an airplane? Just curious.

Leave a Reply

