#54. Make Lemon Curd

I have a long standing relationship with lemon curd.  Many a time I have attempted to make a beautiful, bright yellow, tart and sweet double boiler full of lemon curd; many a time I have ended up with a cloudy bowl of scrambled eggs soaked in lemon juice.  For a while, I gave up on lemon curd, figured that my grandmother was right, that I should simply stick to Shirff’s, but how can I be a grown up, how can I be a wife, how can I even think about someday having babies when I can’t make lemon curd?

I put that fear to rest today, when I made the most wonderful lemon curd that ever there was.  The secret is yolks.  Lots and lots of yolks.  No whites!  NO egg whites!  There are plenty of recipes that call for whole eggs and a heavy sauce pot, and they can keep walking because those batches I ruined, they had whites; they had whites and they were in ‘heavy sauce pots.’  Fail.

Yolks only, people, and a double boiler.  Yolks, a double boiler and a sieve.  That’s the secret.

I stirred this lovely curd into what should have been the world’s most perfect cheesecake.  The Perfect Cheesecake.  I wanted to eat it with a spoon, or over ice cream of something, but I didn’t, I put it in cheesecake.  While what came out of the oven was a delicious and pretty cheesecake, The Perfect Cheesecake, it was not.  It was slightly cracked and slightly lumpy, but not to worry, I will keep fattening people up until I make The Perfect Cheesecake.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #54. Make Lemon Curd

  1. Stephie says:

    YEAH!!!! You finally accomplished lemon curd. Congratulations! Grandma would be so proud.

    Love you

  2. Chancey Lady says:

    I’m very very impressed as well. I never wanted lemon curd and now I do… must add that to my list of things to learn how to make 🙂

  3. Kiera says:

    I am proud of you as well and can’t wait to try this Amazing cheesecake…..hopefully May Long 🙂 Keep up the good work girl…..P.S. you are a wonderful wife and will make a great mother as well 🙂

  4. mommy says:

    Hey Mal;
    You forgot to scratch make lemon curd off of your list! It does look yummy especially in the form of a cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

