#34. Bake and decorate a cake

I was lucky enough to be able to convince everyone that I should and could bake my brother-in-law’s 21st birthday cake.  I started the night before, so I had time to buy one if my cake fell through.  First I consulted the Joy of Cooking.And I used the best chocolate cake recipe they know.

I made the cake exactly by the recipe.  Except I made 1.5 times the amount it called for because it was essential that I have an insanely high, six layer cake.  I also added an extra egg yolk to the chocolate custard base (heavenly, if I may say so, what a marvelous way to start a cake), and substituted the milk in the custard and the water in the cake batter with coffee.  I cooked three cakes, split them once cooled with the biggest bread knife I own, wrapped them in cling film, put the layers in the fridge and at 3am went to bed.  Maybe it wasn’t quite that late.

In the morning I started with my six layers.

Cake, cake, cake, cake, cake….cake.

Grabbed some cherry pie filling (it was canned, but don’t tell ANYONE).  I whizzed up the pie filling with an immersion blender just a little, to break up the whole cherries and make the filling easier to spread between the layers.  Then, I made some whipped cream, not from a can, so very important that whipped cream never be from a can.  It is so much harder to add vanilla and icing sugar and liqueur when the whipped cream is canned.

This is the part where I tell you to get yourself a stand mixer, if you do not have one.  It will change your life.

And the secret ingredient for moist tasty cake, alcohol, naturally.

Many layers, pie filling and cream blobs and brushings of liqueur later, I had a cake!

As I’m sure you guessed, it was a blurry black forest cake!  It was delish, if I may say so myself, and it was also WAY too much cake for 10 people.  Way, way too much.  Not that that is a bad thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #34. Bake and decorate a cake

  1. Stephie says:

    Well it looks fabulous and I am sure it tasted wonderful. I think you should make one for me.

  2. Vanilla says:

    HI!!

    Since you said it’s too much…send me some! 🙂

    xoxo

  3. Lou says:

    The cake was really great. High with 4 layers and everyone love it. We all broke our diets to eat it.
    I vote for Mally cakes forever.

Leave a Reply

