#82 Watch Lawrence of Arabia

An open letter to Lawrence of Arabia;

Wow. Wow, just wow. I think you are the longest movie I have ever watched in my whole life, and that’s saying something. I’ve seen the Sound of Music about 30 times and you still seemed like a lifetime. I know the film makers really wanted to get the most of their trip to Morocco, but seriously, most of the movie could have been captured in a montage. Plus it’s always better with a montage! It’s so much better than the real world! Team America anyone?

Moving on.

Lawrence, you wig out a bit towards the end of the movie and I’m a little concerned for you. I get that you were a real badass in your day, fighting rogue battles and helmetless motorcycling and all. But did you really need to do all that stabbing and grimacing? Or was that Peter O’Toole’s take on it? I hear he was a bit of a drinker, so I can understand his unstable behaviour.

On to Peter O’Toole. Peter, don’t take the drinking comment the wrong way, I really do think you were a ridiculous hunk. Those blue eyes, that lovely blond mop, you’re like a Norse God dropped into England to learn the Queen’s English and an insubordinate manner. If I could give you my pancreas, I certainly would. Although, you seem to have done well all these years without one.

Which brings us to a love interest. Major Lawrence, you can’t tell me that you didn’t meet a single chick the whole time you were leading an Arab rebellion. If you had had some ladies around when you took Aqaba there may have been less stuff on fire. I’m just saying.

All in all, the movie certainly sold me on travel to North Africa.

All my best on the sequel, Mal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #82 Watch Lawrence of Arabia

  1. Stephie says:

    This is hilarious Bu, I think that you should write some sort of news column. Love you
    S.

Leave a Reply

