51. Roast a Turkey

This post has no photos, while I did take photos of my roasting turkey, I realised a few things:

1.  All roasted turkeys kind of look the same.

2.  All raw turkeys kind of look gross.

3.  I forgot to take a photo of the finished product and now all I have is a sad, mostly meatless carcass waiting to be boiled.

First, I laid my bird on a bed of carrots (unpeeled, again!) and mushrooms, then I basted my turkey with a mixture of olive oil, rosemary, lemon juice, lemon zest, paprika and salt & pepper every 30 minutes.  Hold up, step zero was the rinsing and extra body part removal (that bag of parts, the neck and that flab of neck fat), then the bedding and basting.  Since this wasn’t a holiday bird, I didn’t stuff; plus I don’t actually like stuffing all that much.  In the end, D brought it to work, pretended like he was the only one who’s mom didn’t make their potluck contribution, and I didn’t have to eat any turkey to get a carcass for soup.  I figure most people win here, since I really only care about the soup.

According to the people at the work, it was cooked all the way through (something I won’t admit that I might have be conerned about) and tasty.  Now I can cook a turkey for people who aren’t strangers.  Success.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 51. Roast a Turkey

  1. Melissa says:

    I’m impressed with the turkey … once I decide that I’m going to try that … I’ll have to call you !!

Leave a Reply

